CALL US: (510) 797-7779

37053 CHERRY ST #109 Newark, CA, 94560-3776

FAQ

Q: How old do I have to be to enroll for the driver education classes?

A: you may enroll for the driver education classes at age of 14 years and 11 month or when you are a high school freshman.

Q: How do I obtain my learner’s permit?

A: You can obtain your learner’s permit once you have completed all sessions of driver education classes

Q: How old do I have to be to obtain my learner’s permit?

A: You have to be at least 15 and half years of age. (15 ½)

Q: After completing the driver education classes and being fifteen and halve (15 ½) years of age; do I need anything else before I can get my permit?

A: YES! You have to be enrolled for the behind the wheel driver training before you can obtain your learner’s permit (the school will provide you with the verification certificate)

Q: How long do I need to hold the possession of my learner’s permit before I apply for the license?

A: You need to hold the possession of your learner’s permit for at least six month (6 month) from the issued date.

Q: DO I need any additional driving practice time other than the required six (6) hours?

A: YES! You need to practice with your parent or legal guardian for at least fifty (50) hours at home based on the parent-teen guide hand book and the law that was established as of July 1st 1998.

Q: Do I need any night time driving?

A: YES! When practicing with your parent or legal guardian out of the required fifty (50) hours at least ten (10) hours must be done at night.

Q: Do I need any night time driving with my instructor?

A: NO! You are not required to drive with your instructor at night but the school should give you at least one night time lesson.

Q: When I complete all of the requirements will I be given any verifications that I have met all of the requirements?

A: YES! After you have met all of the requirements the school should provide you with verification.

Q: Can I have transport anyone after I get my license?

A: YES! You can only transport passengers that are at the age of twenty (20) or older

Q: Can I transport anyone under the age of twenty (20) like my friends?

A: NO! you may not transport anyone under the age of twenty (20) if you do someone with a valid California driver license and being twenty five (25) years of age must be with you.

Q: When I go down to apply for my learner’s permit, what do I need to take with me?

A: Application signed by your parents, $31 cash, check, or money order, your social security number, birth certificate, and the driver education (OL 237) certificate and behind the wheel enrollment certificate (OL 392) issued by the driving school.

Q: What type of test does the DMV require me to take to get my learner’s permit?

A: A 46 question written test, and a vision test. You may miss 8 on the written test to pass.

Q: Is it possible to obtain a learner’s permit without taking a driver education class?

A: You may apply for a learner’s permit at the age of 17 1/2, but you will not be issued a driver license until you complete the driver education course, or turn 18 years of age.

Q: Is there a specific DMV field office that I have to apply for my learner’s permit?

A: NO! There is no specific DMV field office that you have to go to; you may use any DMV field office to obtain your learner’s permit in the state of California.

Q: Can I drive with my permit in out of the state?

A: YES! You may driver to any where with your permit as long as there is a person of twenty five (25) years of age or older with you when you drive; you may even drive to Texas.

Q: How many questions are there on my learner’s permit test?

A: there are 46 questions on your learner’s permit test, you may only miss eight (8) to pass; if you missed more than eight (8) you must wait one week before retaking the test.

Q: Is there anything that I can study from to prepare for my test?

A: YES! The California driver’s handbook and the sources form your local driving school.

Q: When I obtain my learner’s permit, is it legal for me to begin driving right away?

A: NO! Once you have obtained your learner’s permit you may not drive right away, until you have taken your first behind the wheel driving lesson with a professional driving instructor to have your permit validated.

Q: Do my parents or guardian always have to be with me when I drive?

A: YES! Every time you drive there must be a person with you who is twenty five (25) years if age or older with a valid California driver license.

Q: How long is my learner’s permit good for?

A: One year from the issued date

Q: With my learner’s permit can I drive with my friends in the car? A: YES! As long as you have someone with you who is 25 years of age or older with a valid California driver’s license. Q: Do I always have to carry my learner’s permit with me when I drive?

A: YES! Every time you drive; you must have your learner’s permit with you; otherwise you are driving without a valid California driver license or permit.

Q: If I fail my learner’s permit test, do I have to pay another $26?

A: NO! You are entitled to three tries.

Q: If I lose my learner’s permit, will I have to pay for a new one?

A: NO! You may obtain a copy from your local DMV free of charge.

Q: On the second page of my learner’s permit there is a place for a signature, who is supposed to sign it?

A: Your parents or legal guardian are required to give you 50 hours of practice, 10 hours of which have to be done at night. They should sign the second page of your permit when this has been completed.

Q: Can I drive with my learner’s permit after the dark hours?

A: YES! You may drive anytime as long as you have a person who is twenty five (25) years of age or older with a valid California driver’s license.

Q: When I’m driving with my learner’s permit, does the licensed driver supervising me have any rules or restrictions?

A: YES! The licensed driver must be in the front seat of the vehicle, moderate and conscious and able to control the vehicle when you are unable to do so.